Skiing in the Nipissing Region began in the early 1920s. Laurentian Ski Club was officially formed in 1925 largely from friendships formed between Temiskaming and Northern Ontario Railway employees. The club built a small log shack on land rented from a resident dairy farmer where they gathered for social events. The 1960s and 1970s were a boom period for skiing across North America. In 1966, the club had 1350 members; by 1975, this number skyrocketed to over 4000. The explosion of enthusiasm for skiing in North Bay created new generations of skiers.
Ski enthusiasts born in 1975 recognized the need for a more challenging hill, and at 630 vertical feet atop Antoine Mountain, they carved out 11 of the best ski runs in Ontario with one over 3 kilometres long. For twenty years, the Laurentian Ski Club operated both the North Bay site and Antoine Mountain. Antoine Mountain was abandoned in 2000 after decades of successful ski seasons.
In 2003, Antoine Mountain was purchased by private investors with the goal to one day re-open this visually stunning and challenging mountain. In July of 2014, on the main stage at the 16th annual Voyageur Days festival - Antoine Mountain representatives announced that the re-development would commence immediately with the goal to get guests #BackOnTop for the 2014-2015 winter season.
The redevelopment, opening and 2015 inaugural season marks an exciting new chapter for Antoine Mountain. For details on the 2014 upgrades and redevelopment please Click Here. To stay in touch, stay informed, and to interact with Antoine Mountain, please sign up for our newsletter and like / follow us on Facebook & Twitter.